Heroes of Human Services Awards


Department of Health and Human Services
Sherri Heller

10/31/2016 10:00 PM

Media Contact:

Samantha Mott    motts@saccounty.net    (916) 875-0973


                                                                                                                                                                                                              Contact: Samantha Mott
: 916.875.0973
                                                                                                                                                                                                              Cell: 916.642.5508



Local Heroes of Human Services to be Honored by Board of Supervisors

Sacramento, CA - The Tenth Annual Heroes of Human Service Awards Recognition event will take place Tuesday, November 1, during the County's Board of Supervisor meeting.  The awards ceremony, presented by the Sacramento County Board of Supervisors and the County's Human Services Coordinating Council, will honor residents of Sacramento County who have touched the lives of others through their advocacy, dedication, service and support.


When:                  Tuesday, November 01, 2016, 9:30 a.m. – Reception to follow

Where:                 County of Sacramento Administrative Building
                              1st Floor, Board Chambers
                              700 H Street
                              Sacramento, CA 95814

Great photo opportunity:


Chris Ford, a survivor, was drawn to WEAVE and began volunteering in 2011.  She established WEAVE's Financial Empowerment Program
and since she led the first workshop in 2013, more than 300 survivors have benefited from financial literacy education.
Dr. Maya Leggett, a trauma surgeon at Kaiser Permanente South Sacramento, is passionate about preventing violence and helping to
ensure that at-risk youth have opportunities to thrive in our community. 

During the ceremony, each Supervisor will present resolutions to honorees from their district.  A total of 14 honorees will be recognize
from the five supervisorial districts.